Karlštejn Castle

Karlštejn Castles and Chateaus
The castle was built in 1348 by the Czech King and Holy Roman Emperor Charles IV. as a place for safekeeping the royal treasures, especially Charles´ collection of holy relics and the coronation jewels of the Roman Empire. Karlštejn is located in the heart of the Karlštejn Nature Reserve  and is one of the finest examples of Gothic architecture. 
The fascinating Chapel of the Holy Cross in the Great tower is decorated with 2994 polished gemstones and the 129 famous panel paintings are by Master Theodoric.

by car 16 km
by train 10 min.
on foot / by bike12 km https://www.hrad-karlstejn.cz/cs Coordinates: 49.9391167, 14.1882903

The Bear Reserve

Beroun For Children Sights and Attractions Nature Attractions
A bear is one of the symbols of the town and since 2000 the bear reserve has been inhabited by three bears from a popular TV series. The bears brothers called Vojta, Kuba and Matěj were born on 13 January 2000 in Český Krumlov to Kateřina and Vok. Their mother refused to nurse them. They were adopted by a bear leader and then by film director Václav Chaloupek, who made a popular TV series called Méďové with them. In September 2000 they moved to a newly built reserve in Beroun. Every year, a birthday party is held at the bear reserve on 13 January with the film director Václav Chaloupek as a regular guest. 
In 2015, during the 750 aniversary of Beroun foundation, the bears got their own ID licences for their 15th birthday. Today, only two bears can be seen in the reserve - Kuba and Matěj. The smallest bear Vojta died on 13 April 2016 of a heart attack. His dad Vok, died in the same year, aged 31.
The bears seem to look alike. Matěj can be recognised by a white stripe on his back.
You can contribute towards the costs of keeping the bears in the money box placed by the reserve or to a special account 51-4852560217/0100.
The bear reserve is freely accessible all-year-round. There is a stall sellings snacks and drinks and a childrens playground.
You can visit a nearby observation tower with a stunning view of Beroun. https://www.mesto-beroun.cz/pro-turisty/tipy-na-volny-cas/ Coordinates: 49.9632169, 14.0660711

Městská Hora Observation Tower

Beroun Observation Towers and Viewpoints
The observation tower is 14 m tall and can be found in Městská Hora woodland park in the centre of the town in 290 m above the sea level.
The observation deck is placed in 11 m and offers a beautiful view. The tower was built on the top of municipal water conduit reservoir trom 1936. The observation tower served to public until 80s, when it was closed due to the aged and damaged structure. After an extensive reconstruction in 1999 it has been open daily from May to September.  The observation tower is run by AVE Beroun company.
OPENING HOURS https://www.ave.cz/cs/stredocesky-kraj/provozovna-beroun/zarizeni?relatedPage=true Coordinates: 49.9626347, 14.0651133

The Museum of Beroun Pottery

Beroun Sights and Attractions Museums & Galleries
The museum is located in the Reinovský House. It represents a preserved type of housing for poor city inhabitants, who gradually developed the field by the city walls from the 16th century. The house was built around 1720. It gained its present appearance after the adaptations carried out after 1810.

Opened in 2015, this multifunctional museum complex offers permanent exhibitions dedicated to the unique Renaissance pottery from Beroun and the history of the local crafts. It is also used for other exhibitions and fairs, lectures, and chamber concerts. The museum has its own pottery workshop with a pottery wheel and kiln where visitors, including children, can try their hand at working with a clay in year-round courses or one-day workshop events led by experienced pottery artists.
The workshop preserves the tradition of Beroun pottery craftsmship by using the long forgotten old technics typical for the 16th and 17th centuries. The production of the significant unique pottery has returned to its place of origin - the historic centre of Beroun. http://www.muzeumberounskekeramiky.cz/ Address: Zámečnická 14, Beroun

The Berounka River

Beroun Sights and Attractions Nature Attractions
The Berounka river is formed by the confluence of the Mže and Radbuza. It is 130 km long and joins the Vltava in Lahovice. The original name of the river was Mže. Kosmas in his chronicle calls it the Msa or the Misa. It was the Pilsner memorialist Jan Tanner who called it the Berounka for the first time. The establishment and spreading of the name Berounka was mostly contributed to by the large map of Bohemia by J. K. Müller dated 1720. The river has brought numerous floods to Beroun. The first detailed reports and descriptions of floods - catastrophes that still afflict Beroun to this day, date back to the 17th century. The most disastrous great water hit Beroun in 1872. It flooded three-quarters of the town, inflicting tremendous damage. The water level on the square is indicated by a cast iron tablet situated on Jenštejn House. The last great water ravaged the city in August 2002. Part of the city including the square were flooded with water. The damage was estimated at 600 milion Czech Crowns. The calm river, on the other hand, was and still continues to be a paradise for anglers and also for water sportsmen.

A modern mobile weir over the Berounka river was built in 2010-2011. It is situated on the site of an old weir. The current weir is 2,5 m high and 90 metres wide. The weir is able to control the water level before the weir, and thus retain or accelerate the water flow.
The waterworks are part of the municipal flood control measures.

There is a small hydro power plant and a fish pass on the left bank near the weir. A small hydro power plant was built together with the weir. Four Kaplan turbines produce 720 kW. The 130 metre long fish pass is a natural type of pass and enables aquatic animals to migrate in both directions.